Google Preview of Damn Yankees

damnyankeesIowa City – The Iowa City Community Theatre opens it 60th season tonight with new seats and a classic musical: Damn Yankees. Here’s the press release, followed by some fun facts.
ICCT is proud to present Damn Yankees as the opening show for its landmark 60th Season. Written by George Abbott and Douglas Wallop, with Music and Lyrics by Richard Adler and Jerry Ross. Damn Yankees tells of die-hard baseball nut Joe Boyd is sick of watching his beloved Washington Senators flounder at the bottom of the league, so he does what every sports fan has thought of at one time or another: he sells his soul to the devil. He becomes the young slugger Joe Hardy and leads his team in the pennant race against the hated Yankees. Joe has to put everything on the line to reach the highest heights, and it’ll all come down ICCTchairsto the bottom of the ninth in this much-loved musical classic that’s packed with great songs. Performances are September 18-19 & 25-26 at 7:30pm  September 20 & 27 at 2:00pm. Damn Yankees is sponsored by Alan and Liz Swanson, Directed by Katie Boothroyd and Music Direction by Wes Habley.

ICCT is also proud to announce the addition of all new riser seating and 180 new chairs.  Celebrating local talent since 1956, ICCT is providing all new luxury seating for its audience to help bring its best and boldest season yet.

Here are some quick fun facts about the show:

It won seven Tony awards, including Best Musical, Leading Actor and Leading Actress.

Jerry Ross, the composer, died at the age of 29 just a few months after Damn Yankees opened.

The origins of the musical are the German legend about Faust, who made a bargain with the devil as well.

The musical is based on The Year the Yankees Lost the Pennant by Douglass Wallop.

The most famous song from the musical is “Whatever Lola Wants.”

The Cast:

Darlene – Riley Brannian
Meg Boyd – Dawn Clark
Lola-Sydney – Hayes
Joe Hardy – Jaecob Lynn
Miss Weston – Elise Mozena
Van Buren – Larry Newman
Welch – Roger Phelps
Doris – Kristina Rutkowski
Applegate – Josh Sazon
Husband/Commissioner/Lynch – Glen Schmitz
Joe Boyd – Tom Schulein
Sister – Amy Timperley
Gloria – Liz Tjaden

Brandon Burkhardt
Mickey Motyko
Joe Mozena
Nick Rudzianski
Austin Wicke

Alicia Heath
Monica Rowland

Davis Nepple
Mazie Clark


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s