Google Preview of Ordinary Days

ordinary daysby Matthew Falduto

Marion – Giving Tree decided to take a risk with their next show. Up until now, they’ve played it safe by choosing well known community theatre shows, like The Best Christmas Pageant Ever, Harvey and Dial M for Murder. Now they’re asking their patrons to experience a show they’ve most likely never heard of – Ordinary Days. I had never heard of it either and I do know a little bit about theatre. So naturally I did what everyone does these days – I Googled it.

I quickly learned that Ordinary Days is a small scale musical – just four actors. The description on composer and lyricist Adam Gwon’s website reads:

When Deb loses her most precious possession–the notes to her graduate thesis–she unwittingly starts a chain of events that turns the ordinary days of four New Yorkers into something extraordinary. Told through a series of intricately connected songs and vignettes, Ordinary Days is an original musical about growing up and enjoying the view.

It seems to be a perfect sort of musical for Giving Tree’s space. The can’t really do the barricade of Les Miserables in their comfy little theatre, but a four person musical? No problem.

If you’d like an example of the music, check out this youtube video of the great Audra McDonald performing I’ll Be Here.

I love the storytelling nature of the song.

We met, of all places, in front of Gristides, some freakishly cold winter’s day.
I had on several unflattering layers of wool.
He slipped on the ice with his grocery bags full,
So I rescued some Fruit Loops he dropped by the curb
and he made some remark that my smile was superb
I thought that was sweet and I started to go and he said
“Hey, whatcha doing tomorrow?’

It’s definitely enough to make me interested to see this show. Reward Giving Tree for taking a risk and check out Ordinary Days which opens Friday and runs through April 24. Tickets available here.

Leave a Reply

