Tribes Postponed!

tribes

by Matthew Falduto

I have never been more proud of Theatre Cedar Rapids than I am as I write these words. They have decided to postpone Tribes until they “can gain the support of the Deaf community and collaborate with them in finding d/Deaf actors to play the deaf roles as well as ensure that we are portraying the deaf experience in an authentic and respectful way.”

This has not been an easy road for the theatre community or the Deaf community. I know there have been hurt feelings on both sides. I hope we can let those feelings go and move forward together. There is much to learn on both sides.

I know I have learned more about the Deaf community through this experience. And it’s been eye opening on a personal level as well. I believe more good can come from this difficult experience.

Thank you, Leslie Charipar, David Schneider and Casey Prince for taking us all in the right direction.

Read TCR’s statement here.

Leave a Reply

